The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley

When I was in secondary school I was certain I was destined for great things (academically that is). I felt that I had the Midas touch in all my subjects and that Alevels were only a small stepping stone for my goal to study at a top university. I enjoyed all my subjects and I was doing well, I had an impression this would carry on at Alevel and that I would still have fun in my subjects and I would also get great grades.

I had very high aspirations academic-wise, I was incredibly naive it seems…

Unfortunately things haven’t planned out in the way I once imagined. It seems an impending gap year may be needed. Having just spoken to my sister I am very fortunate to have understanding family members who can make me feel that it’s not the end of the world when things don’t go right-unconditional love is the greatest.

I now feel even if I do have any setbacks I can just pick myself up and have another ago, after-all it is character building and who knows-the future may have something great for me in stock…

I still am an eternal optimist even if the best laid plans go awry.

Leave a Reply

